Skip to main content

Master Gardeners of Western Wayne County

Home  About Us  Master Gardener Program  MSU Extension  Membership  Resources  Scholarships  Volunteer  Contact Us   
Board Members
Contact Info
Board and Committee Descriptions
Award Winners
Past Presidents
Award Winners

MGWWC has helped coordinate the Master Gardener Banquet and Awards Ceremony in Wayne County. Master Gardeners and their friends and family come together to celebrate their achievements and co-mingle with others across the county. Certificates and badges are given by MSU Extension for given for completing the requirements for becoming a Master Gardener and an Advanced Master Gardener as well as Milestone pins for doing hours of volunteer work. Each year a Master Gardeners are chosen to receive special recognition for going above and beyond in the form such awards as the Master Gardener of the Year, the Unsung Hero, Forsythia, Tiger Lily and Lifetime Awards. Listed below are some of the award winners from years past:

Master Gardener
of the Year
ForsythiaUnsung HeroTiger Lily /
20172016Barbara Johnson Joseph Suda;
Christine Rohn
Patrick Johnson;
Sheila Kneeshaw 
20162015 Arnetta Burroughs  Harold Kelley;
Theresa Kamensky;
Janet Sowards
Ginko Award
Deirdre Hope
2015 2014Rick WhitecottonBarb JohnsonJane Casey  
20142013 Char Tavarozzi Frank Allen Bev Evans 
20132012 Paul Rodman  Lambros Niforos Ron & Cathy
20122011 Sharon LodicoChar Tavarozzi Greg Cruickshank 
20112010 Greg Cruickshank  Pat Myers Bruce Forrest 
20102008  John Lambert Greg CruickshankSue Hanson 
2007   Glen A. King  
20072006 Cecelia Banotai- Brandmizer Cheryl English  
20062005    Anita Callender George Hartley
2005 2004      
2001 2001 Glen A. King    

Please help us! If you know who won any of missing award names, email us with the name(s) at