Master Gardeners and their friends and family come together to celebrate their achievements and co-mingle with others across the county at an annual Wayne County MG Banquet. Master Gardeners are honored for completing the requirements for becoming a Master Gardener and an Advanced Master Gardener as well as for the many hours of volunteer work (250, 500, 1000, 1500, 2000 - 5,000.) Each year Master Gardeners are chosen to receive special recognition for going above and beyond in the form such awards as the Master Gardener of the Year, the Unsung Hero, Forsythia, Tiger Lily and Lifetime Awards. Past winners are listed below:

Year Award Master Gardener Tiger Lily/ Lifetime
Given Year of the Year Forsythia Unsung Hero Other Award

2019 2018 Joanne Schwab Greg Nowak
2018 2017 Sheila Wade Kneeshaw Joanne Schwab Gary Oswell
2017 2016 Barb Johnson Joseph Suda; Patrick Johnson;
Christine Rohn Sheila Kneeshaw
2016 2015 Arnetta Burroughs Harold Kelley; Ginko Award
Theresa Kamensky; Deirdre Hope
Janet Sowards
2015 2014 Rick Whitecotton Barb Johnson Jane Casey
2014 2013 Char Tavarozzi Frank Allen Bev Evans
2013 2012 Paul Rodman Lambros Niforos Ron & Cathy Hanes
2012 2011 Sharon Lodico Char Tavarozzi Greg Cruickshank
2011 2010 Greg Cruickshank Pat Myers Bruce Forrest
2010 2008 John Lambert Greg Cruickshank Sue Hanson
2008 2007 Glen A. King
2007 2006 Cecelia Banotai-Brandmizer Cheryl English
2006 2005 Anita Callender George Hartley
2001 2001 Glen A King